Change in Perceptions

Throughout the short time I was able to spend in Africa, I was surprised over and over again by how welcoming, open and the level of acceptance that I was shown by everyone no matter where I went. I expected more of a language or cultural barrier but did not experience it. Relationships came easy and were born in many different ways. It could have been a game we played, the common project that we were working on or even dancing together. The differences in age, race, gender, abilities, language or cultural background never played into these relationships.

This journey lead me to some experiences that tested me physically and mentally. When climbing up a steep hill, I found myself questioning if I was going to actually make it to the top or even take another step. However, when I would look up there was always an outstretched hand waiting for me and offering me help. No words were ever needed and when words were spoken it was always encouragement or a joke to make me smile. I never knew that you could share so much with someone, whether it was someone you already knew or someone you just met, simply through a smile.

I was moved throughout each leg of our travels by the people that I met. At Ethandweni both the children and staff surrounded us with love and acceptance. They never expected more than a bit of your time or attention and rewarded you with laughter and friendship. When we spent time working on projects such as the goat kraal, cattle boma and school projects I was amazed to see so many people come out to help. Everyone brought whatever they could to share with everyone else and pitched in as much as they were able. There was never any judgement of abilities, patience was abundant and time was always made for laughing and having some fun. At Dete my restraint was tested. I found myself questioning what is best for others and through some conversations was able to realize that I am not there to change what I feel may need to be done but instead my role is to provide support through my hands and my heart. While on safari I was able to reflect on not only the relationships I had built in my short time there but to again witness the amazing and strong relationships that my leaders have grown and developed. I was overwhelmed to witness how powerful relationships can be not only for those immediately in the relationship but for the vast net of people around them that they are able to touch. The power of many people doing what may seem like small things individually is truly magnified and beautiful when you can begin to see and appreciate the larger picture.

I will admit that one of my biggest fears about this trip was the feeling of not having control. In my daily life I like to have a plan and try to stick with it as much as I can. Fortunately prior to this trip the leaders did a great job of preparing me for this, things will change and we don’t always have a set plan. I previously thought of this pace of life as inefficient however to my surprise, while in Africa I actually fell in love with it. While I was there I felt like I was able to truly enjoy life and not just live it, I don’t remember the last time I have smiled so much! When I took the time to stop planning out everything I was going to do next I was able to finally notice the opportunities that may unfold before you when you pause long enough to notice them.

I was tested by this when we spent a day putting glass into window frames at a school. As the end of the day neared it became clear that we did not have enough supplies to finish the project. We went to town to see if we could purchase additional supplies but they were not available there either, we had to just stop without finishing. Not finishing something that I started was very difficult for me and I questioned several times about how the work would be completed to which I was assured that the additional supplies would be donated to the school and that the families of the kids who attended would finish the project. I was reminded of the importance of doing things with people and not for them and the amazing things that can present themselves when this happens. This is a reminder that I will carry with me, spending more time allowing opportunities to present themselves instead of focused on a timeline, reaching the finish line or if I am on track.

The similarities between cultures also surprised me. There were many events and experiences from my life that I saw mirrored during my time in Africa. One evening we were talking about the APU (Anti-Poaching Unit) and the incredible task they have of trying to remove snares and protect the wildlife from poaching. The conversation then talked about who was doing the poaching and that it was not only the big game hunters that are traditionally thought of when talking about poachers, but the local people who are trying to feed their families. Having grown up across the planet it really struck me that they were encountering the same problems that my family did. I can remember the first time my dad was caught for poaching deer. The game warden knew our family and understood that my dad would only poach the deer that he truly needed to feed our family and that all parts of the animal would be used, nothing going to waste. I remember him warning my dad to only take what he absolutely needed and to be more careful because other wardens may not be so understanding and my family could not afford a fine or for my dad to be placed in jail for any period of time.

I guess in short, prior to going to Africa I had a perception that things would be very different and that this trip would push me outside of my comfort level. After this experience I now realize how wrong my perception of another culture was. There are far more similarities then there are differences and when I think about all of the people who I met, the relationships that we built, and my time there as a whole; it just feels like an extension of home.

Leave a comment